Whipped Coconut Oil Body Butter

Whipped Coconut Oil Body Butter

I started making my own jams, jellies, preserves and chutneys after going to a canning and preserving workshop at the Carmel Farmer’s Market in the summer of 2014.  One of my first productions was an apricot and mango preserve.  However, for my first “I Make and You Take” on Saturday, February 7, 2015, I made a gem e.g. a yummy strawberry and blackberry jam/preserve.

Hellooooooo strawberry and blackberry preserves!

Hellooooooo strawberry and blackberry preserves!

NOTE: I made it off the cuff e.g. no recipe is available.   Learn about the differences between jams, jellies, and preserves here.

To help combat the winter dryness here in Indianapolis, I hunted down a recipe for a body butter and found a whipped coconut body butter recipe at http://www.livingthenourishedlife.com/2012/02/homemade-whipped-coconut-oil-body.  I made mine with Young Living essential oils and made a couple of changes.  I used a Kitchen Aid hand mixer. Yes, I would have loved to use a Vitamix blender and may be starting a Go Fund Me campaign … stay tuned!  When you’re a full-time graduate student and part-time teacher, you have to find creative ways to funds the “wants”.  Use the body butter like it is a thick body cream/lotion and apply sparingly.  Believe me!  A little bit goes a very, very, very long way.

Me heart you DIY sugar scrub!!! To make a sugar scrub, all you need is

  1. Sugar (brown, white, palm, etc.)
  2. A carrier oil (grapeseed, olive oil, apricot oil, avocado oil, coconut oil … whatever your skin and nose require)
  3. Essential oils … I use Young Living essential oils
DIY Sugar Scrub . . . I heart thee lots and lots in the winter time!!!!!

DIY Sugar Scrub . . . I heart thee lots and lots in the winter time!!!!!

And … wallah!  As my friend Jerinae would say, “Life is wonderful!”  Make those dry skin patches smoother and softer after a shower/bath by using a sugar scrub!  After taking a shower/bath and BEFORE drying off, rub the sugar scrub on the dry places on your body and rinse off with lukewarm water.  Also, pat your body dry versus rubbing it dry.  Sometimes, when I’m supper ashy or see dry/flaky skin, I’ll use the sugar scrub on dry skin and brush it off.  I may try the recipe at http://www.theidearoom.net/2012/11/peppermint-candy-cane-sugar-scrub.html next.  We shall see …

